A Rare Find

Tomorrow, I’m leaving for vacation in France! Because I expect there to be times I’ll have nothing to do, I went to the library to fetch myself some nice science-fiction books. I got Tales of the Malazan Book of the Fallen part 1 and 2, and Garfield. My father was with me in the library to get himself some books. As we’re about to leave, he takes a look at the “Afgeschreven” section. That’s where the books, music, games, etc. that never get rent go to. These pour unwanted items are sold for usually one Euro (1.4 dollars).
Anyways, he comes back from the Afgeschreven section holding a couple of CD cases. He hands me one of them… It’s Myst. Just Myst. Meh, what’s so special about Myst? I’ve got Myst… No, it’s not the Myst I’ve got… I’ve got Myst Masterpiece. That’s not what this is. And it’s not realMyst, either. This is just Myst. The Myst from 1993.
And that, my friends, is why I am holding a 14-year-old Myst game in my hands at this very moment… Yes, it makes typing quite hard.
After changing some compatibility settings, it actually worked! Okay, it’s 1993 quality, but it works!! There’s even a Making Of with it… So cool!!

I scanned the case and some pages of the booklet to show them off:

Outside of case
Inside of case
Booklet

As you should be able to see, the case is pretty dirty, so I think I’ll replace it with a new one.
Yay!! This is great… Next up: an original copy of realMyst!

PS: I’ll be back from vacation by the 6th of May.

Leave a Reply

